New and feeling helpless

Getting started with the CEN discussion forum.

Moderators: Box40Rin, Liz Hansen

Anna

New and feeling helpless

Post by Anna » Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:02 am

Hello All,

I am new to this and am feeling extremely depressed, and scared for my dog. My dog had his first seizure May of this year, 2006. One month after he turned four years old. Since he recently started having seizures, this is the space between his grand mal seizures.

1st seizure May 24
2nd - 27 days later, 32 days, 40 days, 15 days, 17 days, and last night 10 days.

From his first day he was put on 3 ml of Potassium bromide.
He is not improving, in fact the seizures are increasing in frequency. He is due for his levels. I need to take him in. I didn�t rush him in when the increase in frequency occurred because I wanted to see what his pattern would be. Plus, they�ll just up his level of meds. That appears to be the protocol of the practice I am at.

I don�t want to drug up my dog. As of right now, my feelings are he�ll never experience Phenobarbital. I just can�t do it to him. He�s on 3 ml of Potassium bromide, and at times he looks drugged!!!! And his back end has been slipping out from underneath him. Every time it happens I feel my heart sink.

Last night, the last thing I said to my husband was, � Tanner is going to have a seizure� and sure enough he did. What tipped me off was he was seeking solitude. Not as interested in interacting. The thing that is scaring the me to death right now is, I feel he is going to have another one tonight. It�s 3 am and I can�t sleep.

I wish I had the money to do a brain scan. But I don�t. I don�t know if I should stick with the practice I am at which is pretty reputable, or take him to UPEN. I just don�t know how much more expensive UPEN will be.

Does any one know about Jean Dodds? Has any one sent their dog's blood to her?