It's his thyroid!

Share your good news!

Moderators: Box40Rin, Liz Hansen

jack's mom

It's his thyroid!

Post by jack's mom » Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:21 pm

I just received Jack's thyroid test results back from Dr. Dodd. She stated that autoimmune thyroiditis is present and is likely an underlying reason for his seizures. I don't know whether to be happy or scared. So glad i got this done. I'm no doctor but it looks like hi autoantibodies were falsely elevated giving a false reading on his first basic thyroid test. She recommends putting him on Soloxine. I am trying not to get too excited, but in the back of my mind i'm hoping the Soloxine will stop the seizures. From past experiences, do you all think this is something i can hope for or is it just another medicine to try and help reduce seizures from 4 times month to maybe once a month? I know nothing about thyroiditis. Is it worse than seizures, as in fatal? Does anyone here have a dog with this? I need to ramp up my research. But overall, i'm excited cause at least i know. Any feedback would be much appreciated!
Jody
4 years old AM bulldog
June 07 - 1st seizure
PB 150mgs 2X a day
Soloxine, KBr, Zonisamide 250mg 2X a day

skrpio

Post by skrpio » Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:49 pm

Yes this can maybe cause seizures. Getting the thyroid working correctly can stop the seizures but you have to remember that the soloxine will get the metabolic rate up and therefore the PB doseage will be wrong as this acts on the metabolic rate. Check with your vet or Dr Dodds on reducing the PB after the soloxine course is completed.