Trying to Make Heads or Tails Of It All

Share your story, questions, concerns.

Moderators: Box40Rin, Liz Hansen

Apache

Trying to Make Heads or Tails Of It All

Post by Apache » Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

I am so happy to have found this forum, but saddened at the fact there are many, many dogs who have been inflicted with Epilepsy. Our Veterinarian mentioned to us that there's been a steady increase over the past decade or so.

Anyway, I can't really say that I'm new to Epilepsy/Seizures, as we had another German Shepherd roughly 15 years ago that started having seizures, but they only began at the age of 6 years. Unfortunately, there was an underlying reason for his seizures, and 8 months later, we had to put him down.

Our most recent German Shepherd, Apache, is now 23 months old. His first ever *witnessed* seizure was on January 18th at 9:15 in the morning. It was followed up by another early in the afternoon. My fault, as I exercised him slightly at noon when I came home for lunch. (I say *witnessed* because he may have had another one prior,...just before the Christmas holidays. Anyone familiar with German Shepherd's, know that when they're frightened, they secrete an awful smell from their anal gland. I came home at noon hour one day, and it smelled like he may have defecated in the house. Extremely unusual for this fellow, even as a pup. A search proved nothing, so it may have been his actual, first ever seizure).

Three weeks to the day, another seizure occurred. Then, a week and half later, yet another one. This past Wednesday (a week and a half later, again) he suffered two more. From reading the forum and digging up as much info as I can, there doesn't seem to be a pattern (time-line) for these seizures. Yet, as it stands now, there is a slight pattern, but a worry-some one. Has anyone else experienced such a pattern, whereby the seizures start showing up on a more frequent basis at kind of,...regular intervals?