Senior Dog - Just Started Seizing 2 Wks. Ago

Share your story, questions, concerns.

Moderators: Box40Rin, Liz Hansen

bella36

Senior Dog - Just Started Seizing 2 Wks. Ago

Post by bella36 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:29 am

Hello,

Newbie here. While it's great to have a website for canine epilepsy, I really wish I didn't have to be here!

Anyway, here is my story: My dog (Rikki) was a rescue that I've had since he was a puppy. He looks like maybe part Beagle, part cocker. He will be 13 in June. I lost my other dog, a 15 yr old Sheltie almost exactly a year ago (3/16/17) and am still grieving him. Rikki seems to have aged considerably since my other furbaby went to heaven and has had separation anxiety since. He follows me constantly around the house from room to room since my other baby was put down. We bring him with us whenever we can because when he's left at home alone, he howls like crazy when we walk in the door and he never did that before. I know he feels all alone without at least my other dog nearby. I feel so guilty whenever we have to leave and he can't come.

Fast forward almost exactly 1 year later and Rikki has started having petit mal seizures within the past 2 wks. with a few more serious vocal ones happening where he'll go down. After showing my vet the videos, she told me he more than likely has a brain tumor (besides having a grade 4 heart murmur) and it could be weeks to months before he passes depending on how aggressive the tumor is. He's been on Gabapentin 100 mg 2x/day and zonisamide 100 mg 2x/day and he seems to sleep a little more than normal for a dog his age however, (fingers crossed!) he hasn't had as many seizures now that his body seems to be adjusting to the meds.