Anybody have luck w Purely Pets?

This is the place for general questions about drugs, long-term treatment concerns, possible influences of other drugs (such as antibiotics, heartworm preventatives, or anesthetics) for epileptic dogs, and other concerns. Please note that we cannot make specific recommendations for individual dogs - for this, please consult your veterinarian.

Moderator: Box40Rin

nlustgarten

Anybody have luck w Purely Pets?

Post by nlustgarten » Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:41 pm

Hi everybody! I'm new to CEN but man what an amazing and comforting community this is. My goob Atlas was diagnosed w idiopathic epilepsy January of 2018 when he was just shy of 2 years old. He is a pitbull/cane corso mix. Since then I have been all over the spectrum trying to find natural, affordable remedies compared to our 3x a month $500-$1700 *cringe* vet visits due to clusters. Atlas's epilepsy was not always as intense as it is now. It began as just a seizure every few months - no biggie - but then progressed to clusters spanning as many as 12 in less than 8 hours. I've tried changing his diet (even going as far as trying a raw diet). I've tried 800mg CBD oil AM and PM (that shit's not cheap), and I've tried and been unsuccessful w Keppra (can't remember the dose but it was running me ab $70 per script), Chlorazepate to try sedating him post cluster (these eventually stopped working), started him on Phenobarb 97.2mg twice daily and he went a month and a half seizure free but then clustered every two weeks after initally breaking the cycle, now I have his dose doubled and he again went a month and a half seizure free so he's due for his next seizure this weekend (if I can even predict this). As a college student I've been put in a really shitty situation choosing between paying my tuition and rent, or Atlas's vet bills. He's my ESA, which I find ironic hahahaha but I don't have money to pay for an expensive doctor to tell me they can't find a cause or solution to the idiopat