Dachshund with Seizures

Share your story, questions, concerns.

Moderators: Box40Rin, Liz Hansen

Brenda

Dachshund with Seizures

Post by Brenda » Fri Aug 04, 2000 8:33 pm

My 14-1/2 year old Dachshund, Mahogany, began experiencing seizures 1 year ago. I've had some experience with seizures...we recently lost a 16 year old Chihuahua who had seizures from the time she was 3. The Chihuahua exhibited, what I consider, to be more "classic" symptoms. She would seek me out, sit on my feet, become extremely rigid, and fall down. Afterwards, she would be disoriented for approximately 20 minutes.

But Mahogany's seizures are quite different. They always occur when she's sleeping, she lets out a horrible scream, thrashes about, and 75% of the time, urinates. But if I can get to her in time, when I first hear her scream, I can touch her and talk to her and the seizure will usually stop...no thrashing or urinating. She's never disoriented after an episode. She's been tested for hypoglycemia, hypothyroidism, all blood tests, and my vet says he has 2-year-olds that don't have as healthy of bloodwork as she does. She was on Phenobarbital at the end of last year, until we went on vacation. And no one could give her medication except for us, so she was weaned off the meds. Everything was fine for a few months, but then the seizures returned, one every 2 weeks or so, and now, 4 seizures in 4 nights. Could the 2 dogs have such different epileptic seizures?

Ned Patterson DVM

Post by Ned Patterson DVM » Mon Aug 07, 2000 9:31 am

Brenda,

Thrashing in the middle of the night, with urination in a dog that does not usually have urinary accidents does sound like a seizure. Also in general many dogs have most of the seizures at night due to the brain electrical activity during sleep. However it is not usually possible for you to get a dog out of a seizure, which is a little odd. It is possible that these events are periods of disorientation or fear,and not actual seizures.